Photo Credit: Adele Wise

Baxter Youth Conservation Corps

Baxter Youth Conservation Corps

The Baxter Youth Conservation Corps is a job training and service learning opportunity for youth from the Katahdin Region. This program gives youth the opportunity to work with professional leaders on trail projects in Baxter State Park. Participants will gain valuable training, job skills, and work experience in a spectacular wilderness setting. Participants will earn an hourly wage (currently $12/hour) and may also receive community service hours for potential school credit.

We plan to offer two BYCC crews in 2018: a northern crew based out of Patten, and a southern crew based out of Millinocket. The Millinocket crew is scheduled for July 9 - 20, and the Patten crew is scheduled for July 23 - August 3. A total of 20 positions are available (10 for each crew).

Students currently enrolled in one of the following Katahdin region high schools are eligible to apply for the program:

Please note: Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain a stamped, approved work permit from the State of Maine before they may participate in the program.

2018 Program Schedule:

In 2018, the Baxter Youth Conservation Corps will have two crews: a northern crew based in Patten, and a southern crew based in Millinocket. Each crew will complete a two-week (80 hour) term of service. Program hours are 9:00am – 5:00pm, Monday through Friday. Youth participants will meet at a central location at 8:30am each morning, and then ride together in a van into Baxter State Park. Students will work under the supervision of two experienced adult leaders. The work day ends at 5:00pm daily. Students will then be transported back to the meeting location by 5:30pm. All training and safety equipment will be provided.

Millinocket Crew Schedule

Monday, July 9: Orientation and training with BSP Trails staff and FBSP leaders
Tuesday, July 10: Trail projects
Wednesday, July 11: Trail projects
Thursday, July 12: Trail projects
Friday, July 13: Trail projects

Monday, July 16: Trail projects
Tuesday, July 17: Trail projects
Wednesday, July 18: Trail projects
Thursday, July 19: Trail projects
Friday, July 20: Group hike, program wrap-up

Patten Crew Schedule

Monday, July 23: Orientation and training with BSP Trails staff and FBSP leaders
Tuesday, July 24: Trail projects
Wednesday, July 25: Trail projects
Thursday, July 26: Trail projects
Friday, July 27: Trail projects

Monday, July 30: Trail projects
Tuesday, July 31: Trail projects
Wednesday, August 1: Trail projects
Thursday, August 2: Trail projects
Friday, August 3: Group hike, program wrap-up

Apply for the 2018 Baxter Youth Conservation Corps

The application deadline is April 30, 2018. Please submit an application, or a reference form for an applicant, using the links below:

Submit an Application
(to be completed by youth applicant)

Submit a Reference Form
(to be completed by teacher or mentor)

Questions? Contact Aaron at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).